Be Vulnerable.

Susceptible to physical or emotional attack or harm. Sounds scary, doesn’t it? Frankly, it is. However, where there is fear and risk there is reward.

Vulnerability has been a topic of discussion in my house over the past year, maybe two years. My wife and I discuss it, I’ve watched Brené Brown’s Ted Talk on it, and have read numerous blog posts about it. To be vulnerable is to put yourself out there. To be open. To accept yourself. To be truly honest with yourself and with others. To be compassionate to yourself so you can be compassionate towards others. This is a word I have thought at length about and have tried to institute into my life.

I’ve struggled throughout my life with the fear of belonging. I would always question if I fit into my friends’ circle. I’ve questioned if I’m worthy enough and smart enough to do well in my current job. Whether I belong with others in my field. If I’m a worthy husband to my wife. If my boss approves of the work I am doing. If my friends even like me. What has helped me persevere through these moments of questioning myself is to be vulnerable.

Brené Brown suggests three ways to let yourself be vulnerable and truly seen:

  1. Love with your whole heart
  2. Practice gratitude, lean into joy
  3. Believe you’re enough

When I practice these in my life, those questions seem to melt away. The realization that I am enough and I can be imperfect in my job, marriage, and with my friends is a powerful thing. Just that realization gives me courage. Whether it’s teaching a digital marketing class to a room of small business owners. Asking my friend to be the best man in my wedding. To tell him he is my best friend (for some reason I feel guys have trouble with this, or at least I do). Asking my fiancée to marry me (lord that was terrifying).

When I love with my whole heart, practice gratitude and state what I’m thankful for, and most importantly believe I’m enough I feel worthy of love and belonging.

This post is part of Think Kit by SmallBox
Today’s prompt: “Whether you asked for it – or not – what good advice did you get this year? Did it come from an unexpected source? Was it unsolicited, or did you need a word or two after an eventful day, week, or month? Has the advice changed the way you think about the world? Changed the way you think about your advisor? Changed the way you think about yourself? Changed the way you act? Can you distill the message and help the rest of us out, or is it too personal to be universal?.”

Leave a Reply

